Pittsburgh/Allegheny County

Healthy Start chose Pittsburgh/Allegheny County to be one of the first 15 special project areas nationwide, due in large part to its disproportionately high infant mortality rate (IMR), particularly amongst low-income white and African-American women.

Healthy Start services all of Allegheny County and concentrates its efforts on the following six areas:

  1. North Side
  2. Center City
  3. East End/Wilkinsburg
  4. South Side
  5. Western Communities
  6. Duquesne/Braddock

For a detailed map, click here.

Here is a listing of most of the communities served in each of the six regions:

  • Northside: Northview Heights, Perry South, Allegheny Center, Central North Side, California-Kirkbride, Chateau, Manchester, Allegheny West, North Shore, Spring Garden, Troy Hill, Spring Hill-Cityview and Fineview
  • Center City: West and South Oakland, Hill District, Uptown, Downtown, Polish Hill and the Strip District
  • East End/Wilkinsburg: Homewood, East Hills, Lincoln-Lemington, Belmar, Garfield, East liberty, Larimer, Point Breeze North, Highland Park, Morningside, Stanton Heights and Wilkinsburg
  • South Side: Arlington, Arlington Heights, Carrick, St. Claire Village, Mount Oliver, Knoxville, Bon Air, Allentown, Beechview, Duquesne Heights, Southside, Beltzhoover and Mount Washington
  • Western Communities: Windgap, Fairywood, McKees Rocks and Crafton Heights-Greenway
  • Braddock/Duquesne: Braddock, Duquesne, McKeesport and West Mifflin